Courses Info

Course Duration: 30 Days"

Eligibility: No prerequisite"

Course Description:


This Linux Curriculum is based on Enterprise Linux syllabus and comprises of three modules, consisting of System Administration-I, System Administration-II, and System Administration III. The topics are arranged logically and structured in a manner so as to suit the needs of entry-level administrators as well as professionals who have experience in working with other Operating Systems such as Solaris, Microsoft Windows etc. It aims to impart knowledge of Linux OS and help the participants to acquire enterprise-level knowledge of the system and scale up their skills to become Senior System Administrators.
System Administration III
Course Outline

• Unit 1: Getting Started with the Classroom Environment
• Objective: Given a virtualized environment, begin to administrate multiple systems using prerequisite skills
• Unit 2: Enhance User Security
• Objective: Configure system to use Kerberos to verify credentials and grant privileges via sudo
• Unit 3: Bash Scripting and Tools
• Objective: Automate system administration tasks utilizing Bash scripts and text-based tools
• Unit 4: File Security with GnuPG
• Objective: Secure files with GnuPG
• Unit 5: Software Management
• Objective: Use yum plugins to manage packages; understand the design of packages; build a simple package
• Unit 6: Network Monitoring
• Objective: Profile running services, then capture and analyze network traffic
• Unit 7: Route Network Traffic
• Objective: Configure system to route traffic and customize network parameters with sysctl
• Unit 8: Secure Network Traffic
• Objective: Secure network traffic through SSH port forwarding and iptables filtering/network address translation (NAT)
• Unit 9: NTP Server Configuration
• Objective: Configure an NTP server
• Unit 10: Filesystems and Logs
• Objective: Manage local filesystem integrity; monitor systems over time and system logging
• Unit 11: Centralized and Secure Storage
• Objective: Access centralized storage (iSCSI) and encrypt filesystems
• Unit 12: SSL-encapsulated Web Services
• Objective: Understand SSL certificates and deploy an SSL-encapsulated web service
• Unit 13: Web Server Additional Configuration
• Objective: Configure a web server with virtual hosts, dynamic content, and authenticated directories
• Unit 14: Basic SMTP Configuration
• Objective: Configure an SMTP server for basic operation (null client, receiving mail, smarthost relay)
• Unit 15: Caching-Only DNS Server
• Objective: Understand DNS resource records and configure a caching-only name server
• Unit 16: File Sharing with NFS
• Objective: Configure file sharing between hosts with NFS
• Unit 17: File Sharing with CIFS
• Objective: Configure file and print sharing between hosts with CIFS
• Unit 18: File Sharing with FTP
• Objective: Configure file sharing with anonymous FTP
• Unit 19: Troubleshooting Boot Process
• Objective: Understand the boot process and recover unbootable systems with rescue mode